Thursday, 6 March 2014

// // Leave a Comment

9 Phases Lok Sabha Elections to be Held From April 7 to May 12, Counting on 16th May

Chief election commissioner - V S Sampath
CEC Veeravalli Sundaram Sampath announces Lok Sabha polling dates in New Delhi

The Election Commission has announced the dates of 9 days “Lok Sabha polls for 2014”, starts from 7th April and the votes counting on all 543 Lok Sabha constituencies will be over in a single day on 16th May, announced by V S Sampath (Chief election commissioner) at a press conference.

Andhra Pradesh has 42 LK seats, will go to polling on 30th April & 7th May.  Assembly elections will also be organized simultaneously in the states of Andhra Pradesh, including Telangana region, Sikkim and Odisha.

"We have great pleasure in announcing the process of the 16th LS, which is yet another milestone in the Indian history," Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath said.

"With our announcement of the schedule today, Model Code of Conduct comes into force with immediate effect," Sampath added.

On 7th April 2014 the first day of poll, voting will be organized on two states also including the 6 parliamentary constituencies. On 9th April, the second phase of poll will mask the 7 constituencies in five different states.  And the third phase of poll on 10th will cover 92 constituencies in 14 states and on the fourth phase 12th April will be for 5 constituencies to cover in 3 states.

17th April, the fifth phase will cover 13th states and UTs and 122 constituencies and sixth phase will cover 12 states & 117 constituencies on 24th April 2014.

 30th April will be the day of seventh phase of polling and it will cover the 9 states & 89 constituencies. In eighth phase 7th May, 7 states & 64 constituencies will be cover and on 12th May, the last phase of polling will cover 3 states and 41 constituencies.

Lok Sabha Polling Schedule:- 

"Adequate number of observers in different categories will be deployed during the forthcoming elections," he added.

The current Lok Sabha term will be expire on 1st June 2014 and the new house of the current Lok Sabha expires on 1st June and the new House will be constituted by May 31. (ANI)

"I appeal to all stakeholders, parties and candidates to uphold democratic traditions of nation," Sampath said.

Contributed by


Post a Comment

Have something to add to this story? Please drop a word in the comments!:-)